Gluten-Free? These Halloween Candies Are Totally Safe

Holidays can be a real drag if you have dietary restrictions| and with Halloween being all about the candy| it can be downright scary. But there’s good news for those avoiding gluten: although you’ll have to steer clear of homemade mummy-shaped cakes and brownies decorated adorably with spiderwebs| most candy bars and hard candies get the green light ¡ª just stay away from Twizzlers| because they surprisingly do contain gluten! Now| we’re not saying to go crazy with the candies| but when a majority of “fun size” bars are only 100 calories| a little indulging might be necessary.

First things first. Always read the label on your candy before consuming. Unless labeled “gluten-free|” candy may contain traces of gluten| be produced in a facility that also processes products with wheat| or be made on equipment that is shared with products that are not gluten-free. Also note that a product labeled as gluten-free in one country may not be gluten-free where you live. For instance| Smarties in the US are g-free| whereas Smarties in Canada are not. Another reason to read the label? Companies are constantly changing the ingredients they put in products| so always double check just to be sure. When in doubt| you can call the 1-800 number located on the packaging to speak with a customer service representative to find out for sure if it’s free of gluten.

Here’s a list of popular candy that is currently gluten-free:

ChocolateAlmond JoyBaby RuthBit-O-HoneyButterfinger (original flavor only)Charleston ChewGoobersHeath BarHershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55 oz. only)Hershey’s Milk Chocolate With Almonds Bar (1.55 oz. only)Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate With Almonds BarHershey’s Special Dark Chocolate With Toffee and Almonds BarHershey’s KissesHershey’s NuggetsOh Henry!Junior MintsMilk DudsMounds BarPaydayRaisinetsRolos (all except Rolo Minis)Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup (all except Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Unwrapped Minis and seasonal shaped items)Reese’s PiecesSkor Toffee BarTootsie RollYork Peppermint Pattie (all except York Pieces Candy| York Minis| and York Shapes)

Related: DIY Gluten-Free Almond Joy Couldn’t Be Easier to Make

CandyCharms Blow PopsDotsHaribo Gold-Bears (not Juicy variety)Jelly Belly Jelly BeansLaffy TaffyMike and Ike Original FruitsHot Tamales Fierce CinnamonPixy StixRed HotsSkittlesSmarties (in the US)StarburstSugar BabiesSugar DaddyTootsie PopsWonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip

If you’re wondering about M&M’s| Snickers| Twix| 3 Musketeers| and Milky Way| the company that makes these products| Mars| urges consumers to read the labels directly on the package for allergy information.

¡ª Additional reporting by Heather Dale

Related: 5-Ingredient| Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

Image Source: Flickr user Frank